Week 2 – Summary

(Posted well after the fact but better late than never…I hope)

 

In week 2, I continued to poke and prod my blog with content and layout.  I half thought of posting an “Under Construction” sign on the landing page, but thought that might be tacky.  I listened to some comments and made an attempt to try and organize my different posts so they weren’t just one, big string posts.  The best I could, at least this time around, was to point to the archives of my current blog theme.  I may take some time this week to tweak or straight up abandon the current design.

 

This week, we focused on listening and recognizing layers in media which I found interesting because I previously understood layers only in the visual domain, having worked with Photoshop and Visio in the past.  What I had never thought of before was that sound itself could be layered.  I suppose not having grown up a musician, I never progressed to my appreciation of sound as a “layer.”  Looking back, I’m stunned at the realization that indeed I did appreciate it, but never knew what it was I was appreciating…the interplay of sound and how it affects my perception.

In my first entry of the week, I listened to This American Life: Episode 503 “I Was Just Trying To Help” and paid careful attention to the use of not just sound, but tempo and composition to demonstrate what an eye-witness might have perceived as a person stepping back and forth between two rooms, one playing music, the other silent with a woman sitting at table to be interviewed.  Adding that layer of sound and manipulating its tempo and composition pulled the listener into two distinct perspectives.  I went on to draw a parallel to an Audio and Visual example where sounds were introduced with layers by digging deep into my childhood collection of TV sitcoms, Parker Lewis Can’t Lose.

I then went on to find the Pfizer commercial that had no actual dialogue, rather the dialogue was a composition of sound, imagery, and transitions.  The commercial was especially moving because, as one commentator noted, the opening story (as told by the sound and imagery) was used as misdirection leading the viewer in a totally different direction, only to turn at a particular moment.  If the story had a real spine (as opposed to the story spine), the story in this commercial would resemble a case of scoliosis, in that it leads you an abnormal path…okay, so perhaps that’s not the best analogy.  

Perhaps a game of mouse trap is a more fitting comparison?

Finally, I closed the week by combining an old interest (and to-do item) of mine, window farming, as the subject of this week’s search for storified and non-storified content.  I hadn’t visited the site since around 2011 or 2012 and was pleasantly surprised by the new layout.  What I found was a website that was pretty straight forward and told some relatively “boring” stories that all lead ultimately to the reader acquiring a window farm, either through a community around window farming, a Do-it-yourself approach, or brute purchasing power.  I likened the different stories being told to somewhat symmetrical arcs, each varying in amplitude depending on the message, but, regardless ending up at the same end point:  You owning a windowfarm and growing stuff.

Image

 

One thing I didn’t note earlier, and something I have no way of proving, was that the original site I remember reading had the intent of selling people on the idea.  There was a comment that the site seemed to cater to folks who already had an interest, self-selecting individuals with a green-ish thumb.  3 years (or was it more?) ago, when this idea was kicking off and it was just the ladies and their friends sharing/selling their idea.  They didn’t necessarily have an interest in making money much less sharing the idea to other people locked in a concrete jungle.  That website told more of a story around the inventors, how they came about the idea, where they were and where they were going.

Here go…thank you Uncle YouTube for hoarding stories like these!

 

One thought on “Week 2 – Summary

  1. Better well summarized than some arbitrary deadline, this is exactly what I like to see in a summary. Now you are on track.

    Thanks for including the windowfarming video- she really tells her own story well and its an amazing concept of collaboration.

Leave a Reply

